student 20 Productions

Random Thoughts of a Game Developer

NaGa DeMon and the NaNoWriMo rebellion

My brother has been bugging me for years about NaNoWriMo. He wants me to participate. For my part, I’ve never really had the time. I mean, that’s the excuse I keep using. In reality, I’m terrified by the whole endeavor. The idea of cranking out a novel in a single month… There’s no frakkin’ way. I can’t stick with a creative writing project long enough to finish a short story… most of the time. It’s not that I don’t have ideas. I do. I just have no confidence that I can possibly finish. I dislike losing at something I think I’m good at, and I’d like to think I’m a decent writer. I have no desire whatever to face that kind of failure. At least, not this year. Maybe next year.

On the other hand, I am confident that I can design a game – from scratch – in a single month. I can design it, get it all set up, and playtested. In a month. I can do it. And I will.

Turns out that there is something called being a “NaNo Rebel“. Now, I’m not sure what it takes to officially register for that, but to register for NaGa DeMon, on the other hand…  Well, you basically just have to do it.

And I’m going to.

So, starting November 1st, this Blog will be devoted to my NaGa DeMon project. I don’t have a name for it yet; I think it will be based on an idea I had ages ago – essentially a collectible trading card RPG. I don’t know how much of the ideas I have I’ll finish, but there will be enough to play a game by the end of the month.

All of the NaGa DeMon posts will have the NaGa DeMon tag (which you’ll find in the tags for this post) and be in the Development category. That’s all for now, my very, very few readers.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “NaGa DeMon and the NaNoWriMo rebellion

  1. First off: Good luck on the NaGa DeMon. Which, judging by it’s name, should be some odd form of evil spiritual being. Something in snake form.

    Second off: If NaNowWriMo was really about finishing novels, then I’ve been failing all these years. While I’ve wrapped up at least one of ’em, I haven’t had a single one that really ended a plot. All I’ve done is hit 50,000 words.

    Writing a rough bible/history for Tyrce from scratch would cover that. You could do it, no problems.

    Third off: Tyrce novel! Need one, stat.

    Oh, and explain to me why I keep trying to call it “Tyrcee” That would be nice.

    Fourth off: Damn straight my blog’s better than yours.

    Of course, as my blog has more Power Girl on it than yours, it would almost have to be. Now wouldn’t it?

  2. /giga.encourage

    Thank you, that is all.

  3. Did… did you just script me encouragement, Devan?

    Cullen – I know NaNo isn’t about finishing. The furthest I’ve gotten on a story was around 10,000 words over a rather feverish weekend (mostly on a Saturday). I couldn’t pick up the thread after that. With story writing, I tend to do better with things I can finish in as few sittings as possible, which has me condemned to Flash Fiction Hell.

    I could outdo your Power Girl quotient if I wanted to – you know that, right?

    I have no idea why anyone would call it Trycee. I’m not even sure how to pronounce that. If it makes you feel better, I’ve been wanting to change the spelling to Tirs or Tirce to make the pronunciation a little more intuitive.

    I may just write a Essence Concordance. I can see that as being a useful thing, what with me designing an entire world an’ stuff.

    • On writing – 10,000 words. In one day.

      There aren’t enough adjectives in the world to describe how much I hate you right now.

      On outdoing my Power Girl quotient – Well? we’re waiting…

      On alternate Tryce spellings – I’d lean Tirce over Tirs, mainly because in my head I’m rhyming Tirs with Firs…

  4. As an aside, I’m so excited to get started that I’m having trouble focusing on my Essence RPG project. I went to start working on Supernatural stuff just now, and my brain immediately turned to NaGa DeMon stuff.

    Its going to be hard to hold off starting until the day after tomorrow.

  5. Nicole on said:

    I still see no Power Girl.

  6. Pingback: Talking about… « Smokebear

  7. Pingback: November, month of the Naga Demon | Third Point of Singularity

  8. It’s not the lack of updates that bothers. It’s the lonesome wind that blows through the speakers every time the site loads up. If a tumbleweed comes bouncing past, will it come as a surprise? Or will it look like a long lost friend?

Leave a Reply

