student 20 Productions

Random Thoughts of a Game Developer

A Thousand Monkeys are Handing Out Quick Play

So, I know that this isn’t the most read blog in the RPG hobby. It probably has something to do with my apparent inability to maintain anything resembling an update schedule. Either that or I just don’t write about anything interesting, which is a genuine possibility. In either case, since my RPGs (Quick Play and the 16 Bit Heroes – Alpha v0.1 patch 2) are getting me no feedback, I went a-lookin’ for other places to post them where they might find an audience. Lo and behold, I found (or, rather, re-discovered) 1km1kt.net.

 

1km1kt is a web site devoted to the distribution of free RPGs, along with discussion about them. They also do works of fiction in the fantasy and science fiction genres. For the record, the full name of the site is “One thousand Monkeys, One Thousand Typewriters”, which is a reference to the Infinite Monkey Theorem. My main interest in the site, however, revolves around the almost frantic level of creativity in the role playing games they host. These things range from single page RPGs (kinda like Quick Play) to massive missives and revivals of ancient systems (such as “The System” – a universal RPG from before GURPS made them cool…).

In any case, if you want to see proof that I can get one of my games hosted somewhere other than my own blog, you can find it here. While you’re over there, check out the other stuff they have. The 24 Hour RPG and Game Chef competitions are hosted there, and that stuff is always fascinating (maybe I should participate…). I love seeing it somewhere that’s not here. It’s not much of an ego boost, but I’ll take what I can get in an industry that’s absolutely flooded with indie designers, most of whom are doing great work.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A Thousand Monkeys are Handing Out Quick Play

  1. I love that there is one area in life I can kick your ass in. Updates! Watch as Welltun Cares Reviews updates AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN! I am adding content to that site EVEN AS WE SPEAK!

    Muwahahahaha!

    “But Cullen,” you might say, “What about writing? Shouldn’t you be ‘kicking my behind’ in writing prowess?”

    Why no. No I shouldn’t. Because then I’d be stepping down from STOMPING ON YOUR ASS! BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    In other news, I think my ego’s big enough to handle NaNoWriMo this year. Don’t you?

Leave a Reply

