student 20 Productions

Random Thoughts of a Game Developer

Fallout 3 Musings

While eagerly awaiting feedback and playtest results for 16 Bit Heroes, I have been indulging in a little video game playing. Specifically, I’ve been playing a little more Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas a bit more than can be considered strictly healthy. Having just finished a tabletop RPG design project, I couldn’t help but notice the striking resemblance between the Fallout SPECIAL stat system and most Tabletop RPGs. In fact, it wouldn’t be difficult – at all – to convert the system more or less directly to a tabletop game.

The SPECIAL stats themselves are on a simple 1 to 10 scale, making direct Stat checks a simple matter of a 1d10 roll. The skills, by contrast, are on a 1 to 100 scale, making skill checks a simple d%. There would be a few things that would need ironing out (how fast folks are, that sort of things).

The real point of this post is to display that, at this point, everything has become a tabletop game to me. I caught myself statting out one of our dining room chairs the other day.

It amazes me that women will even talk to me, to say nothing of the fact that I have a beautiful girlfriend who loves me. Take that, Geek stereotypes!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Fallout 3 Musings

  1. It’s no surprise Fallout‘s system could be made into a game; it was orignally supposed to be a sort of port of one, much like Baulder’s Gate is a port of Dungeons and Dragons. The table top system they originally planned to use was, I kid you not, GURPS. The deal fell through due to issues over the violence in the game.

    And now you know… the rest of the story.

Leave a Reply

