student 20 Productions

Random Thoughts of a Game Developer

A Quick Post – Simplification

Alright, I just wanted to get something up here because I haven’t in a while.  I’m working on the combat system, and sort of spiraling out from there.  I’ve defined States (State of Unconsciousness, State of Confusion, et al), which are set effects that may be inflicted in (and out of) combat.

A major change from what I was working on before came where it comes to Actions.  After setting up a quick mock battle with some BS rules, I found that the 50 Action Point system was, while flexible, difficult to follow and overly complicated.  I’ve fallen back to an earlier idea, where characters receive 5 Actions per round rather than the 50 AP.  It’s a lot smoother and easier to follow.  I didn’t like giving up the power-design flexibility, or the on-the-fly redefinition of maneuvers, but I feel that the sacrifice is a small one to gain a much larger measure of ease-of-use.

More to follow; I think I may post States in the near future.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “A Quick Post – Simplification

  1. The AP stuff sounds sort of like SRPG that appear on the consoles. Are you doing anything map related (i. e. with hex/grid stuff)?

    Also, you haven’t commented on my poor, poor blogs. A new review is up and I do have some fiction on the blog.

    • Again, sorry for the delay in reply… real life keeps interfering with maintaining my blog. In the last couple weeks, I’ve been happy when I had time to work on my game at all… But that notwithstanding….
      Yes, there will be rules for squared battlemaps. In fact, they’re going to be inherant in the combat system, although I suppose that individual groups will use battlemaps or not as they see fit. I’ve got quite the system devised, and I’ve started some actual work on it – I’ve rounded off some concepts, and I’m just getting into things like tactical movement. I’ve been distracted recently (a side project that’ll get posted here as soon as it’s done – a much simpler system for more beer-and-pretzels style gaming), but the work continues, and I am hoping that combat will be interesting enough in and of itself to encourage one-on-one PvP tourneys. I’m going for tactically interesting, with more flexibility than the current generation of games put out by a certain seashore loving sorcerer.

Leave a Reply

